Blurry


It’s just an old grain elevator.

Grain elevator

But at the right angle, blurry  behind the trees, it might be a castle,

becomes castle

the winter-dead trees the entrance to some forbidden forest,

winterdead

the rusting hulk of a barge the last vestige of a sunken navy

barge becomes navy

the hidden railroad bridge a lowered drawbridge

railroad bridge well hidden

whose struts become the scaffolding upon the battlements

bridge strutsabove a river that leads to  a long forgotten realm,

and the river a portal

a place where fantasies are born.

And also nightmares.

20 thoughts on “Blurry

  1. What a nice story and I’m showing the pictures to Randy Lefebvre@Zedrockphotography. He’ll be amazed at how quickly you are mastering your Canon Rebel.

    • Wow! I had SO much fun shooting this. The rest of the family was like half a mile ahead of me and I was way back there going “OK, no if I take this with the LANDSCAPE setting…”

  2. Awesome!! Grain elevators and other farm fixtures really do provide imaginary fodder. Every time I drive past one of those ruins in a rural area (you know the ones I mean), I always wonder about its story.

    You references here are all inspiring, and the pictures are a perfect accompaniment.

  3. I really enjoyed this ‘flight of fancy’, Jessie. Things are not always what they seem, are they. You just have to know where and how to look.

For the love of Mike, TALK to me! (Concrit welcome on fiction)

